Essay Ideas

February 13, 2012

What could I potentially write about?..

  1. What is virtual reality and how can it be used in gaming?
  2. Which console is superior?
  3. Does video game violence have a negative effect on children?
  4. Can video games appeal to certain emotions? (Joy, sadness, anger)
  5. Why are games that are “interactive movies” popular?

Hmm… I think I’ll go with the first one! 😀
Now…. What could I write about ABOUT that?… ^

  1. What is virtual reality?
  2. How could it be possible to make?
  3. How could game developers use it?
  4. Are there any examples of virtual reality today?
  5. What are the pros and cons of such systems?

So… Yeah, virtual reality! I’m a total Otaku (anime-nerd, plus all of the insults that coincide with the title of Otaku) so much of what I already think about virtual reality comes from… You guessed it! Anime. Shows like .Hack//Sign and Fractale show amazing capabilities between virtual reality and augmented reality (computerized objects seeming to be part of the real world, but not.) For instance, .Hack is a show about an MMORPG (Massively multiplayer online role playing game) that uses virtual reality to its fullest. Full 3D environments, 100% customizable avatars, first-person action, your brain IS the controller as you send input through electrodes in a special visor to do ANYTHING you want in the virtual world.
From what I can tell, virtual reality is placing your mind into a virtual world through as many senses as possible with as few hindrances as possible. No controllers, no distractions, total control of what you do in the other world. I think it could be a great tool for game making!

I’m studying to become a game developer / graphics programmer, and I’m excited enough about augmented reality, let alone the possibilities of virtual reality. I even bought a kinect to play with and attempt to program my own forms of virtual reality and augmented reality for. It’s amazingly intricate but fun to mess with. Luckily microsoft made the Kinect SDK fairly straight-forward and easy to use at the lowest level.

I think virtual reality has its potential, even with the technology we have today, it’s just a matter of making the most use of what we have, which I doubt anyone has done so far.

What do you think about VR?

2 Responses to “Essay Ideas”

  1. henx125 said

    I would love to see virtual reality implemented into video games. None of the ways that I have seen so far really take it to the level it needs to be to be practical and enjoyable to me, but I definitely think that it is possible for us to in the near future create a system that allows your brain to be the controller just as you said .Hack does. At the very least I would love to see some kind of mechanism that allows you and all of your movements to be transferred into the game so that you are able to feel like you are actually apart of it. This would make combat focused games feel so much more awesome because you could for example swing some device that in turn would make your weapon swing the same way in the game in an accurate fashion (not like the wii where you can swing your controller around wildly to preform amazing attacks).

  2. sfxscull said

    It’s a good thing that you seem so excited about your topic! 🙂

What'cha gunna say?

